A fully-operational turn-of-the-20th-Century loom, along with another loom and some spinning equipment is one of the Artisan Exhibits that opened September 8, 2012. Trained museum docents will demonstrate loom techniques and discuss the role of women in Angels Camp during the mining periods. The demonstrations will take place at scheduled times throughout the year.
A fully functional late 19th Century Carpenters Shop is one of the Artisan Exhibits located in the Mining and Ranching building. The exhibit opened September 8, 2012. The exhibit will be operated by experienced wood-workers and museum docents at scheduled times throughout the year. They will demonstrate the tools and skills of carpenters in late 19th Century America.
A fully operational early 20th Century print shop is part of the Artisan Exhibit that opened September 8, 2012. The exhibit, located in the Mining and Ranching Building, is a re-creation of an early print shop, complete with two working presses, type cabinets, cases and support equipment. The exhibit features descriptive text panels discussing the history of newspapers in Angels Camp and Calaveras County as well as the history of printing. The equipment will be operated by experienced printers and trained staff for the visiting public at various scheduled times throughout the year.
On Saturday July 30, 20011 after more than two years of effort, the Angels Camp Museum dedicated its new historic five-stamp mill as part of its mining exhibit. The huge mill likely dates back to the late 19th century, but was first recorded in 1920 when it was purchased by Harry Hogarth as part of the Relief Quartz Mine. It was moved later in the 20th century and then purchased by the city before eventually ending up at the Angels Camp Museum.
The Native Sons of the Golden West were on hand for the ceremony, including Grand President, David Allen, and Director of Historical Research, Barney Noel. Museum Commission Chair Bob Petithomme was charged with the ribbon cutting. A single operational stamp mill was on display next to the five-stamp mill, and the original five horse power engine that powered the larger mill was loaned for the day by the Ghiglieri Ranch. The single stamp mill was turned on to signal the ribbon cutting and lend its loud rhythmic thumping sound to the festivities. More than 60 people, including surviving relatives of Harry Hogarth, were on hand for the unveiling. Family member, Richard Serra of Vallecito, donated the monument for the plaque. Refreshments were provided by the Museum Foundation.
Newspaper article links to the event can be found here:
This interactive exhibit allows both children and adults to experience the gold panning techniques used by the prospectors of the 1840s and 1850s. Participants will learn about the challenges of the Gold Rush era from a museum docent as well.
This activity is an additional charge of $5.00 per person (for both children and adults).
This exhibit opened on May 1, 2010 at the Angels Camp Museum. The exhibit chronicles the early life of Samuel Clemens as he transformed himself into the legendary writer and humorist Mark Twain. The exhibit attempts to shines a light on how Twain used the story he heard while in Angels Camp in 1865 about an amazing jumping frog and translated it into his famous short story “The Amazing Jumping Frog of Calaveras County.” This story launched his career as a nationally known humorist and writer that eventually made him America’s most famous novelist and humorist of the late Nineteenth and early 20th Centuries.
A special exhibit created in recognition of this world famous author whose stories have given Angels Camp a unique and lasting identity. This exhibit has been developed in cooperation with the distinguished Mark Twain Boyhood Museum, Hannibal Missouri, the U.C. Berkeley Bancroft Library, and leading Mark Twain scholar, Dr. Gregg Camfield at U.C. Merced.